Municipalities     Forms      Tenders      Media      Budget       eMail

Our Mandate

Our Mandate

The Assembly is the Legislative Arm of the Kiambu County and draws its mandate and authority from the provisions of Article 185 of the Constitution.

General Information

Kiambu County Assembly consists of 87 Members, who include 60 Ward Representatives, each elected by the registered voters of the wards, Twenty Six (26) members are nominated by the County Assembly political parties according to their proportional representation in the County Assembly to represent special interests including persons with disabilities, minorities and the youth, and the Hon. Speaker elected from outside the House.

We are located in Kiambu Town opposite the Kiambu Police Station

Role of the County Assembly

The county assembly shall;

  1. Vet and approve nominees for appointment to county public offices as may be provided for in this Act or any other law;
  2. Perform the roles set out under Article 185 of the Constitution;
  3. Approve the budget and expenditure of the county government in accordance with Article 207 of the Constitution, and the legislation contemplated in Article 220(2) of the Constitution, guided by Articles 201 and 203 of the Constitution;
  4. Approve the borrowing by the county government in accordance with Article 212 of the Constitution;
  5. Approve county development planning; and
  6. Perform any other role as may be set out under the Constitution or legislation.